Conference Program

Download conference papers in PDF format
Saturday, 24 April 2010
8:30 AM - 5:30 PM Workshops and Tutorials
Sunday, 25 April 2010
8:00 AM - 9:00 AM Breakfast for workshop attendees
8:30 AM - 5:30 PM Workshops and Tutorials
6:00 PM - 8:00 PM Welcome Reception (Appetizers/Drinks) and Student Poster Session
Monday, 26 April 2010
7:30 AM - 8:15 AM Breakfast
8:15 AM - 8:30 AM Welcoming Remarks
8:30 AM - 9:30 AM Keynote
Performance is Dead, Long Live Performance!
Ben Zorn, Microsoft Research (abstract, Slides: PPT and PDF)
9:30 AM - 10:00 AM Coffee Break
10:00 AM - 12:00 AM Session 1: Dynamic Optimization and Analysis
Session Chair: Alasdair Rawsthorne
PinPlay: A Framework for Deterministic Replay and Reproducible Analysis of Parallel Programs (slides) - Best Paper Award Winner!
Harish Patil, Cristiano Pereira, Mack Stallcup, Gregory Lueck and James Cownie
TAO: Two-level Atomicity for Dynamic Binary Optimizations (slides)
Edson Borin, Youfeng Wu, Cheng Wang, Wei Liu, Mauricio Breternitz Jr. and Shiliang Hu
Umbra: Efficient and Scalable Memory Shadowing (slides)
Qin Zhao, Derek Bruening and Saman Amarasinghe
Large Program Trace Analysis and Compression with ZDDs (slides)
Graham Price and Manish Vachharajani
12:00 PM - 1:30 PM Lunch (conference provided)
1:30 PM - 3:30 PM Session 2: Feedback-Directed and JIT Compilation
Session Chair: Robert Cohn
Taming Hardware Event Samples for FDO Compilation (slides)
Dehao Chen, Neil Vachharajani and Robert Hundt
Lightweight Feedback-Directed Cross-Module Optimization (slides)
Xinliang David Li, Raksit Ashok and Robert Hundt
Automated Just-In-Time Compiler Tuning (slides)
Kenneth Hoste, Andy Georges and Lieven Eeckhout
Hybrid Java Compilation and Optimization for Digital TV Software Platform (slides)
Dong-Heon Jung, Soo-Mook Moon and Hyeong-Seok Oh
3:30 PM - 4:00 PM Coffee Break
4:00 PM - 6:00 PM Session 3: Memory Optimizations and Synchronization
Session Chair: Derek Bruening
A Self-Adjusting Code Cache Manager to Balance Start-Up Time and Memory Usage
Witawas Srisa-an, Myra Cohen, Yu Shang and Mithuna Soundararaj
On Improving Heap Memory Layout by Dynamic Pool Allocation (slides)
Zhenjiang Wang, Chenggang Wu and Pen-Chung Yew
An Efficient Software Transactional Memory Using Commit-Time Invalidation (slides) - Best Student Presentation Award!
Justin Gottschlich, Manish Vachharajani and Jeremy Siek
Efficient Compilation of Fine-grained SPMD-threaded Programs for Multicore CPUs
John Stratton, Vinod Grover, Jaydeep Marathe, Baastian Aarts, Mike Murphy, Ziang Hu and Wen-mei Hwu
Tuesday, 27 April 2010
7:30 AM - 8:30 AM Breakfast
Steering Committee Meeting (7:30am to 8:30am) in Summerhill room.
8:30 AM - 9:30 AM Keynote
There Are At Least Two Sides to Every Heterogeneous System
Chris J. Newburn, Intel (abstract)
9:30 AM - 10:00 AM Coffee Break
10:00 AM - 12:00 PM Session 4: Speculative and Automatic Parallelization
Session Chair: Angela Demke Brown
Decoupled Software Pipelining Creates Parallelization Opportunities (slides)
Jialu Huang, Arun Raman, Yun Zhang, Thomas Jablin, Tzu-Han Hung and David August
Prospect: A Compiler Framework for Speculative Parallelization (slides)
Martin Suesskraut, Stefan Weigert, Thomas Knauth, Ute Schiffel, Martin Meinhold and Christof Fetzer
Speculative Parallelization of Partial Reduction Variables (slides)
Liang Han, James Tuck and Wei Liu
Automatic Parallelization of Simulink Applications
Arquimedes Canedo, Takeo Yoshizawa and Hideaki Komatsu
12:00 PM - 1:30 PM Lunch (conference provided)
1:30 PM - 3:00 PM Session 5: Register Allocation
Session Chair: Norm Rubin
Coloring-based Coalescing for Graph Coloring Register Allocation (slides)
Rei Odaira, Takuya Nakaike, Tatsushi Inagaki, Hideaki Komatsu and Toshio Nakatani
Linear Scan Register Allocation on SSA Form (slides)
Christian Wimmer and Michael Franz
Integrated Instruction Selection and Register Allocation for Compact Code Generation Exploiting Freeform Mixing of 16- and 32-bit Instructions (slides)
Tobias Edler von Koch, Igor Bohm and Bjorn Franke
3:00 PM - 3:30 PM Coffee Break
3:30 PM - 5:30 PM Session 6: Static Optimizations
Session Chair: Chris J. Newburn
Automatic Creation of Tile Size Selection Models (slides)
Tomofumi Yuki, Lakshminarayanan Renganarayanan, Sanjay Rajopadhye, Charles Anderson, Alexandre Eichenberger and Kevin O'Brien
Parameterized Tiling Revisited
Muthu Manikandan Baskaran, Albert Hartono, Sanket Tavarageri, Tom Henretty, J Ramanujam and P Sadayappan
Minimizing Communication in Rate-Optimal Software Pipelining for Stream Programs
Haitao Wei, Junqing Yu, Huafei Yu and GuangR. Gao
Level by Level: Making Flow- and Context-Sensitive Pointer Analysis Scalable for Millions of Lines of Code (slides)
Hongtao Yu, Zhaoqing Zhang, Xiaobing Feng, Wei Huo and Jingling Xue
8:00 PM - 10:00 PM Business Meeting
Wednesday, 28 April 2010
7:30 AM - 8:30 AM Breakfast
8:30 AM - 10:00 AM Session 7: Mathematical / Statistical Approaches
Session Chair: Ben Zorn
Towards Program Optimization through Automated Analysis of Numerical Precision
Michael Linderman, Matthew Ho, David Dill and Teresa Meng
Statistically Regulating Program Behavior (slides)
Mark Stephenson, Ram Rangan, Eric van Hensbergen and Emmanuel Yashchin
Exploiting Statistical Correlations for Proactive Prediction of Program Behaviors (slides)
Yunlian Jiang, Eddy Zheng Zhang, Kai Tian, Feng Mao, Malcom Gethers and Xipeng Shen
10:00 AM - 10:30 AM Coffee Break
10:30 AM - 12:00 PM Session 8: Runtime Techniques
Session Chair: Tipp Moseley
Contention Aware Execution: Online Contention Detection and Response (slides) - Best Student Presentation Award!
Jason Mars, Neil Vachharajani, Mary Lou Soffa and Robert Hundt
An Adaptive Task Creation Strategy for Work-Stealing Scheduling (slides)
Lei Wang, Huimin Cui, Yuelu Duan, Fang Lu, Xiaobing Feng and Pen-Chung Yew
Dynamic Interpretation for Dynamic Scripting Languages
Kevin Williams, Jason McCandless and David Gregg
12:00 PM - 12:30 PM Concluding Remarks and Awards